Honorary Alderman

Under the provisions of section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council may confer the title of Honorary Alderman on any person who, in the opinion of the Council, has rendered eminent services to the Authority as a past Member.

The award is subject to a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members present at a meeting specially convened for that purpose.

At its meeting on 1 March 2023, the Council adopted the following procedure for determining appointments:

(A) an offer of appointment to Honorary Alderman only be considered in respect of former Members who have served a minimum of three consecutive full terms of office
(B) former Members who qualify under paragraph (A) above be informally asked within four weeks of the date of their retirement from the Council (or as soon as practicable following the introduction of this process) whether or not they wish to be considered for this award
(C) the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Leader of the Council and the Chairman of the Council, be authorised to determine whether a person under consideration for this award has rendered eminent services to the Council when they were a Member
(D) an extraordinary Council meeting be convened on a date to be determined between the Chairman of the Council and the person(s) being awarded the title of Honorary Alderman to consider a motion under section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.


  • Lillian Lloyd-Taylor


  • Hedley Banks
  • Francis Clay
  • Clive Hodson-Smith
  • John Reynolds
  • Henry Sargent
  • John Sartin
  • William Stripling
  • Stanley Williams


  • Keith Barnes
  • Nigel Copping
  • Tony Dodd
  • Ralph Gilbert
  • Mione Goldspink
  • Robert Parker


  • Allen Burlton
  • Mike Carver
  • Jim Ranger
  • John Wing
  • Mike Wood


  • Phyllis Ballam