Elections 2023

District and Parish/Town Council Elections Thursday 4th May 2023.

Elections for East Hertfordshire District Councillors will be held on the new ward boundaries set by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England. In total, the election will be for 50 councillors across 26 wards.

Due to new Government legislation, voters will have to show photographic ID to vote at a polling station in all elections on the 4th May 2023.

Please see Voter ID requirement.

If you are interested in standing for election as a district or parish/town councillor, you will find more information on how to do so on the Electoral Commission website.

Nomination papers can be downloaded from the Electoral Commission website or requested from electors@eastherts.gov.uk and completed forms must be delivered by hand to the East Herts Council offices, Wallfields, Pegs Lane, Hertford SG13 8EQ.

The deadline for delivering your completed nomination form is 4pm on Tuesday 4th April 2023.  We cannot accept nomination papers before the 22nd March 2023 but from 15th March you can request an appointment or email a draft copy for a pre-check to make sure that the information on your nomination paper is correct.  

Please email: electors@eastherts.gov.uk for more information or  to make an appointment for a pre check or delivery of forms.

If you are already on the electoral register at your current address, you do not have to re-register for each election. Please ring 01279 655 261 to check.

If you are not on the register and would like to vote for the forthcoming election please register to vote by the 17th April.  

Poll cards will be delivered to all registered electors prior to the elections.  The poll card design has changed this year. The poll card will tell you where your polling station will be if you vote in person. It will also include a list of acceptable forms of photographic ID.

You can apply for a postal vote if you are already on the register. A postal vote application form may be downloaded here. The completed application form must be received by the Electoral Registration Officer at East Herts Council, Wallfields, Pegs Lane, Hertford, SG13 8EQ, by 5pm on 18th April.

Postal voting packs for existing postal vote electors will be dispatched on the 11th April. Those for later applicants will be despatched on the 20th April. 

Completed postal voting packs must be received by 10pm on Thursday 4th May to be counted.

Due to a ward boundary review the names of the District Wards and number of councillors to be elected are as follows.



Ward Name

Number of Councillors
Aston, Datchworth & Walkern 2
Bishop’s Stortford All Saints 2
Bishop’s Stortford Central 2
Bishop’s Stortford North 3
Bishop’s Stortford Parsonage 2
Bishop’s Stortford South 2
Bishop’s Stortford Thorley Manor 3
Braughing & Standon 2
Buntingford 3
Great Amwell & Stanstead Abbots 2
Hertford Bengeo     3
Hertford Castle     2
Hertford Heath & Brickendon  1
Hertford Kingsmead 3
Hertford Rural 1
Hertford Sele     2
Hunsdon     1
Little Hadham & The Pelhams 1
Much Hadham 1
Sawbridgeworth 3
The Mundens  1
Ware Priory 2
Ware Rural 1
Ware St Mary’s 2
Ware Trinity 2
Watton-at-Stone  1

  1. Notice of election: 22nd March 2023
  2. Nomination period: 22nd March 2023 until 4pm on 4th April 2023
  3. Register to vote deadline: midnight on Monday 17th April 2023
  4. Postal vote application deadline: 5pm on Tuesday 18th April 2023
  5. Proxy vote application deadline: 5pm on Tuesday 25th April 2023
  6. Voter Authority Certificate application deadline: 5pm on Tuesday 25th April 2023

Please contact the Electoral Services team if you have any questions - please call on 01279 655 261 or email: electors@eastherts.gov.uk.